Florida Teen Driver Checklist

At 15 teenagers can begin the process of getting a Florida driver’s license. That starts with the Learner’s Permit. This allows you to legally operate a vehicle on the roads as long as a licensed driver is seated next to you so you can practice for your drivers test or “Skills Test” as it is called in Florida.  Here are the actual steps to getting your Learner’s Permit.

  1. TLSAE Course or the Drug and Alcohol Course. All new drivers are required to take this course.
  2. Use the Florida Driver’s Handbook to study for the Learner’s Permit Exam. This  is the written part of your driving test that covers the laws, regulations, signs and all that.
  3. I highly recommend using a practice test before doing the real test. There are plenty of free ones out there. Google is your friend. Also DuckDuckGO is a great search engine.
  4. As a teenager you can take the Official Florida Learner’s Permit Exam online. Your parent or guardian acts as a proctor and you can do it at home.  When you pass you need to go to the DMV to the rest done.
  5. Upon passing the Exam it is now necessary to make an appointment at the DMV. You need your parent or guardian go with you and bring your documents. While there you will also need to take a hearing and vision test. If all that goes well you will then have your Learner’s Permit.

 

Once you have your learner’s permit you are then tasked with driving practice to acquire the skills to drive and pass the skills test or the driving test.

  • You MUST have a licensed driver 21 and up in the seat next to you at all times.
  • You must log 50 hours of driving practice with 10 hours being at night.

 

Learner’s Permit Restrictions

For the first 3 months you can only drive when it is light out. After that you can practice until 10PM.

Here are the requirements and restrictions to getting your first Florida Driver’s License.

  • Have to have your learner’s Permit for 12 months before taking your driving skills test
  • Have to be 16
  • Have to have completed the 50 hours of driving practice, 10 hours needs to be done at night
  • No citations

 

Make an appointment to take your Skills Test, or the driving portion of your test, at the DMV. The vehicle you take to the test must be all legit. Registration, insurance, have everything working like lights and blinkers. The examiner will run you through a quick check before you begin.

You will need your documents again.


Graduated Driver’s Licenses for 16 and 17 year old.

As a teenager you have a driver’s license but it is what is called a restricted driver’s license. You can’t just drive whenever and however you want.

16 years old

You can not drive late at night (11pm – 6am) unless it is for work or you are accompanied by a licensed driver 21 or up.

17 year old

You can not driver between 1am and 5 am unless it is for work or are with a licensed adult.